Sipz Fusion Cafe

Sipz Fusion Café is a family owned restaurant that began as a small boba drink joint, but has evolved to serve a large variety of vegetarian Asian-style dishes. Following a temporary snag several years ago when its Mira Mesa location closed, business seems to be booming once again for Sipz. A second location opened in North Park last December. I always visit their restaurant in Clairemont Mesa.

The ambiance in this café is quirky. Colorful, animated sea life decorates the back wall. Paper placemats with the Chinese Zodiac are a Sipz signature. The menu is almost entirely vegan.

The dishes run between $7-10 and the portions are generous. For $1 extra, you can health up your meal by replacing the steam rice with brown rice. Vegan Sushi is served after 5pm. Every omnivore I have bought to Sipz over the past three years has loved it. I have never heard a complaint about the fake meat tasting weird or the meals not being filling.

One of my favorite dishes is the Eggplant Delite. I specifically ask for my favorite “chicken” balls when I order it, because they generally use another form of fake chicken on this specific dish. The fake oyster sauce on this is to die for.

My all time favorite Sipz dish is Thai Curry Chicken with brown rice. I have eaten this dish regularly for the past three years and each time I taste it my eyes roll into the back of my head and an uncontrollable, and frankly embarrassing “Mmm” sound escapes my mouth.

Sipz also has an extensive selection of vegan desserts. I highly recommend the Vegan Raspberry Cheesecake and the Vegan Red Velvet Cake, if you have room for them. You probably won’t if you’re anything like me and cannot resist eating an entire bowl of Eggplant Delite or Thai Curry Chicken.

Sipz Fusion Café is my favorite restaurant and I highly recommend it to vegans, vegetarians and omnivores.

Other favorite Sipz dishes:
[I request the chicken balls in everything that doesn’t automatically come with them]

-Tom Kah Soup
-Wok Fried Drunken Noodles
-Pad Thai

 

 

Clairemont Mesa:
5501 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard
San Diego, CA 92117
(858) 279-3747

North Park:
3914 30th St
(between University Ave & Lincoln Ave)
San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 795-2889

2 thoughts on “Sipz Fusion Cafe

  1. 08mansoor says:

    The places you posted where to eat vegan food at unexpected places. I think I may be interested in them. But, I am Muslim and I eat halal food. So, normally if there is cross contamination at food places, I will not eat at that location. So I was wondering, do you know if the places you mentioned are safe from cross contamination?
    Thanks

  2. I cannot guarantee that all of the places I posted have absolutely no cross contamination. I would like to think that they do separate the food they prepare, but I have not personally visited their kitchens. I am sure that many of these places would fit your requirements. Sipz’ menu is almost entirely vegan. The only milk they use goes into their boba drinks and one of the entrees contains mayo. It’s a pretty safe bet that you would be fine eating there, but I recommend you give them a call to be sure. I am sorry I cannot give you a straight answer. You have raised my curiosity and I will certainly inquire about this next time I come to any of these restaurants.

Leave a Reply

